Warning: curl_exec() has been disabled for security reasons in /home/jpmh36/public_html/south-king-county-dui.com/wp-includes/Requests/Transport/cURL.php on line 162
Domestic Violence Penalties

Domestic Violence Penalties

It is very common to be wrongfully accused of domestic violence in Washington State. There is no need for the victim to show any physical evidence of a domestic violence crime in order to have an individual arrested for alleged domestic violence charges. It often comes down to the victim’s statements and complaints. And when an individual is arrested on such charges, he or she will face life-altering punishments and penalties. If you have been charged with domestic violence, you need to hire a King County domestic violence attorney immediately.

What Are the Penalties in Washington State?

King County domestic violence attorney

Most domestic violence charges in Washington State are considered gross misdemeanors. These charges are punishable by up to 364 days in jail with an accompanying fine of $5,000.

If the domestic violence charge results in a 4th degree assault, known as Domestic Violence Assault 4, the defendant can possibly face a one-year mandatory batterer’s treatment requirement.

If the domestic violence charge includes allegations of choking, the Domestic Violence Assault 4 will elevate to a charge of a Domestic Violence Assault 2 (also known as second degree assault). This charge is considered a class B felony. It is punishable by up to 10 years in jail with an accompanying fine of $20,000.

If you have been arrested for domestic violence, your best bet is to hire a King County domestic violence attorney to build a strong defense on your behalf to avoid these harsh penalties by dismissing the charges against you.

Other Consequences of a Domestic Violence Charge

A domestic violence conviction of any degree may prevent the offender from being able to legally possess any type of firearms. If you are in the law enforcement field or in the military, a domestic violence charge can also result in the termination of your employment.

We Can Help You

For more information about the penalties and punishments that accompany a domestic violence conviction, call (253) 709-5959 to schedule a complimentary consultation with King County domestic violence attorney South King County criminal attorney .

This entry was posted in Domestic Violence and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.